Photo Credit: Johnny Nunez/WireImage

Meek Mill will remain in jail at least until September as the judge in his case has denied the rapper’s lawyer’s request for an emergency hearing to try to get the MMG MC freed at an earlier date, reports The Philadelphia rapper’s lawyers Christopher Warren and Dennis Cogan filed the petition Thursday (July 17) requesting a hearing within three days. However, Common Pleas Judge Genece Brinkley, who sentenced the 27-year-old rapper to 3 to 6 months jail, will not be available for such a hearing until September. She also rejected the notion of another judge hearing the case. This has left Meek’s counsel frustrated. “All I’m asking for is a hearing to learn why [his jailing] is constitutional and they won’t even give me that,” Warren told reporters.

As previously reported, the Dreamchasers CEO has been jailed since July 11 when he was sentenced to 3 to 6 months in jail for a probation violation. On Monday, Warren and Cogan plan to file what is known as a writ of mandamus, a rare order that attempts to get a higher judge to force Brinkley into an emergency hearing. They contend his jailing was unconstitutional because he was not notified of his violations via written notice and Brinkley failed to hold two hearings.

When revoking his bail Brinkley said Meek, “failed to provide his probation officer with a working phone number, used his Twitter account to disparage the officer and the prosecutor assigned to the case, booked out-of-town concerts without court permission, was “combative” and “disrespectful” to probation-office staffers and posed for a picture posted on Instagram holding a gun.”

Meek Mill’s sophomore album, Dreams Worth More Than Money is scheduled to drop September 9.

[via HHDX]

Tagged under: , ,

Common’s 10th studio album, Nobody’s Smiling, hits shelves July 22. The standard version of the LP contains 10 tracks including the previously released, “Kingdom” featuring Vince Staples along with assistance from Lil Herb, Cocaine 80′s, Jhene Aiko, Big Sean, Elijah Blake and others. The deluxe version features three more songs including additional tracks with Vince Staples and Cocaine 80′s. Today, we get a live stream of the heavily No I.D. influenced project that Com has labeled, “a call to action.”

Stream the entire album, HERE.

There’s finally some actual hip hop coming from VH1′s “Love & Hip Hop.” XXL Freshman August Alsina and Iggy Azalea are just two of the stars supplying tracks for the soundtrack, VH1 LOVE & HIP HOP: MUSIC FROM THE SERIES. Common, Gary Clark, Jr., Emeli Sandé, Anthony Hamilton and Trey Songz all have selections on the project as well.

Interesting to see that only two cast members, K. Michelle and Stevie J have spots on the project.

Mona Scott-Young fueled rumors of VH1′s hit reality show “Love & Hip Hop” moving to Los Angeles during a recent interview. The soundtrack releases August 19, the day after the current season finale. Check the full track list below.

1. Iggy Azalea “F**k Love”
2. Trey Songz “Heart Attack”
3. K. Michelle “Can’t Raise A Man”
4. August Alsina “No Love”
5. Emeli Sande “Maybe”
6. Gary Clark Jr. “Things Are Changin’”
7. Janine and the Mixtape “Hold Me”
8. Anthony Hamilton “Sucka For You”
9. Neyo “Lazy Love”
10. Stacy Barthe “Flawed Beautiful Creatures”
11. Sebastian Mikael “Forever”
12. Matisyahu “Live Like A Warrior”
13. Common “Real” feat. Elijah Blake
14. Stevie J ft. Snoop “DNA”


Jay Z has taken on a world of a project. In coalition with headlining the Global Citizen Festival, Jay Z joins the Global Poverty Project in efforts to end world poverty.

Jay spoke on his association with the project stating, “I’m joining the 2014 Global Citizen Festival because I believe through actions, whether it be by raising awareness, getting involved or educating ourselves, the goal to end extreme poverty by 2030 is possible.”

The Global Citizen Festival will take place on September 27 in Manhattan’s Central Park. The Roots, Carrie Underwood, No Doubt, and Tiesto will also hit the stage.

Tagged under: , , ,

Wow! There has been a lot of speculation over the last year or so regarding the mental stability of TGT singer Ginuwine but his own…

According to TMZ, Rick Ross was arrested in Greensboro, NC after his performance at Super Jam 2014 at the Greensboro Coliseum. Officials say there had been a warrant…

Shortly after gracing the stage at the 2014 BET Awards, Chris Brown has revealed his single “New Flame” featuring Usher and Rick Ross. After a heavy social media campaign for the song, C. Breezy went ahead and let the fans hear his smooth tune. Is this another summer anthem in the making? Check it out above.

It doesn’t matter who you are or what you do, we all need money to survive. That’s why we go to work each and everyday.…

Tagged under: , , , , ,

This new ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles’ movie has seen its fair share of controversy, from complaints about their new noses to casting choices (Johnny Knoxville as Leonardo…?) to…

Tagged under: , ,

Many a Hollywood entity has been accused of stealing ideas and core concepts for films from aspiring writers in the past, but they haven’t been…

Tagged under: , , ,

On-Air Now